In Remembrance – A Hiatus

Posted: June 21, 2014 in Just a Thought
Tags: , , , ,

Took a brief time off from writing the blog or posting due to the passing of my wonderful grandmother, Ruth V. Stough. I could give you all the cliches about her, that she was kind, gentle, a wonderful grandmotherly woman and such. Sure, she did typical granny things like cooking and baking and yes, she even crocheted (but was never one for knitting, as far as I know). Nanny could be loud and outspoken but she loved every one of us, her extensive line of grandchildren, great/grandchildren and even a couple of great-greats. If anyone enjoyed a wonderful British comedy or mystery, it was my Nanny. And I can’t leave out the Orioles – hell or high water, no matter how well or how badly their season went (or bad deals. I didn’t hear the end about that “traitor” Mike Mussina heading to the Yankees for a very long time). She also instilled in me a very spiritual sense, that God and Jesus aren’t in the motions we go through but in the relationship we have with Them and how we treat others. In light of this blog, and my published works, I would be completely remiss if I didn’t mention that my Nanny was the person who, more than anyone else, encouraged my writing and my stories. As I stated in the dedication for one of my anthologies, she remembered more about my stories that I told her than even I did. None if this would be possible without her, in more ways than I can list.

I love you, Nanny, now and always…

Leave a Reply

