Here’s the trailer that’s got me pumped: Mad Max: Fury Road.

Anyone who’s followed me for any length of time knows that my obsession with the post-apocalypse began decades ago with Wasteland and Mad Max. When the announcement that Fury Road was underway, I grew unbelievably excited. Then that excitement waned when there were all kinds of setbacks, talks about it being done as anime (yeep!!!) and eventually it faded back into obscurity, and a near non-existence in my brain.

Until now. Wow.

I’d heard Tom Hardy was taking the role of Max, and I reacted with my customary “meh.” Then I saw the trailer and the poster and couldn’t be happier that they are keeping Max’s signature look. Charlize Theron’s character appears to be the “victim” of George Miller’s insistence that someone sport a medical prosthesis, with her robo-hand, and of course the customary reappearance of a previous cast member in a different role made me chuckle.*

This marks a very rare event for me personally, as I have been extremely underwhelmed by movies in general, but I’m actually excited to see this one, despite the silly girls in virginal white. One friend remarked he hopes he doesn’t see any asses hanging out of chaps, though. My thought is that it’s going to get much, much weirder than that.

But… It’s about time. The Zombie Apocalypse has worn thinner than a cotton t- shirt on a fifty-year old carcass. Time for Max to get back out there and kick some ass.

If you’re a fan of post-apoc fiction, tired of the zombies, check out Umbra: A Post-Apocalyptic Mystery. Already available for Kindle and coming soon to other platforms near you. I promise, no zombies.

*They are:
Max Fairchild as Benno Swaisey (MM) then Broken Victim (TRW)

Bruce Spence as The Gyro Captain (TRW) then Jedediah the Pilot (MMBT) (although there have been long-standing debates that he IS the same character, and some inconsistencies in his behavior keep that debate alive).

Hugh Keays-Byrne as the Toecutter (MM) and now Immortan Joe (MMFR)

Comments
  1. GPC says:

    I don’t know to much CGI for me.

    On the other hand while at Gamestop I saw they are making a Mad Max game told the kid about the movies and he had no clue.Felt fucking old but hopefully turned the kids onto the movies.

    • trneff says:

      I hear you – I felt pretty old as well when telling some of my coworkers about it. Luckily for me, I got one of them pretty excited about it. He and I do have the occasional discussion over whether The Road Warrior is one of the greatest movies of all time. I happen to think it is, if only because the story resonates with a timelessness (Hero With a Thousand Faces is a must-read), and that story grounds all of the action and drama (and humor).

      I’m not necessarily a fan of CGI, but that’s usually because that takes the place of a good story. Directors like Miller, however, and recent ones like Joss Whedon, can build a good story an use CGI to enhance it, instead of a replacement.

  2. […] [4] Calling up of course that George Miller borrows actors from his own movies as well. I address this in another post, here. […]

Leave a Reply

